Your Local Funding Information Resource
The Library is a Funding Information Network Partner of Candid (formerly known at The Foundation Center)
The Funding Information Network is comprised of libraries, community foundations, NGOs, and nonprofit resource centers in all 50 states and Puerto Rico, plus a dozen other countries. As a network partner, the Worcester Public Library provides free access to the best and most comprehensive information available on foundation and corporate giving resources, useful to the first-time non-profit grant seeker and seasoned fundraisers.
Free information for nonprofits about funding sources:
- Designed to serve the needs of non-profit grant seekers, funders and donors, offers information to nonprofit organizations.
- Targeted primarily to nonprofit 501c(3) organizations that receive private foundation grants, and whose purposes are charitable, educational, scientific, religious, or cultural.
Grants Resource Collection includes:
• Print material on foundation, corporate and government funding.
• In-library use of two primary databases providing quick access to funders nationwide.
• Resources on fund-raising, non-profit management, proposal writing and budgeting.
Free public access to:
Foundation Directory Online 
In-depth information on nearly one million grant opportunities specific to non-profit organizations from over 170,000 grant makers. Grant maker profiles are updated weekly. Grants to Individuals are included, but are less prevalent.
A database that provides financial data and insights on 1.8 million IRS-recognized tax exempt organizations.
The databases are only available within the Main Library and accessible by using the library’s computers or Wifi network.
Please call 508-799-1655, option 3 to speak with a librarian for more information. Also, consult the online calendar of events for our monthly, in-person class - Introduction to Finding Grants- to learn how to use the Foundation Directory database or inquire about an individual appointment.